top of page

What C-CAP means to me.


Hi for those who are new to my blog please Follow me on Instagram @cheftobe360 and @gloabalarts .

This blog post hits very close the my heart and goes into my passion for culinary arts. Ever since I was younger I've been obsessed with art and everything that has to do with art in any shape or form. For me art was a creative expression that was an extension of myself. As a kid I grew up watching every show Food Network had to offer. My all-time favorite being between Good Eats and Ace of Cakes.

Whatever I wasn't watching cooking shows I was actually making something that I've seen on the shows. It started off with me helping my mom in the kitchen and eventually taking over the kitchen. And now she can't even get me out of the kitchen, it's my favorite room in our house.

Before deciding that I wanted to be a chef, I was always making little things like cakes and cookies all the time to sell to buy art supplies with the money I made. It was in the year 2012 when I decided to take cooking serious and pursue a career in the culinary industry.

For me passion is not something that developed a day, it's something that was always there and always will be there and continues to thrive inside of me. My passion from art developed into a my passion for cooking and they coincide with each other. I realize while deciding and debating with myself if I should be an artist or a cook that the two can go hand-in-hand. I now see every plate as an opportunity to make a new piece of art, the plate my canvas, the food my brush, and my creativity came from my passion.

In my first year as a sophomore in food and finance high school I found out about a program called C-CAP; Career through culinary arts program. I had no idea that C-CAP would be an outlet for me to find jobs, learn interview skills and lead me to find other resources in the culinary field. C-CAP presents students of low income families and opportunities of a lifetime.

We get to join a network of our peers and industry leaders, meet inspirational Chef's, and potentially when life changing scholarships.

For me C-CAP means the opportunity to pursue my goal of becoming a chef and opening up my own pastry shop (patisserie) and eventually a restaurant. The network that C-CAP provides and has created is one of a kind... Time and time again C-CAP alumni have become successful chefs and eventually leaders of the culinary industry. With a connection like C-CAP it's only a matter of time before I reach my goal of becoming a successful chef and soon enough I'll be able to give back to the community, as it has done for me.

First Update of the year 7/1/19

My time at CIA has been amazing, from the very moment I got to campus i felt at home ready to tackle whatever CIA had to offer me... today looking back it's easy to see why i was so excited. In the 6 months that I've been here I've meet an awesome group of friends and future industry leader. I have been with most of the same people throughout my classes since CIA tries to keep you with the group you started with. like any group some times we hit road bumps and if i'm being honest I find that taking time for myself is a great way to reboot and get back into the go-getter mood i'm used to maintaining. Fundies (Baking and pastry fundamentals) was one of our first classes in the kitchens here at CIA, to be frank it wasn't what I expected, but looking back it was what we all needed, being that i came to CIA well versed in the kitchen and cooking/ baking fundies wasn't the most exciting class. what fundies did do a great job for me personally was to enhance my understanding of why i did something a certain way and how to do it better in many instances. when I say it wasn't exciting its only because i felt like it was a reap of what i was lucky enough to learn before and during high school.

My next couple classes were where things got more intense and I was all for it . I actually found out how great I was at making and icing cakes. ... stay tuned more to come!


0 comments
bottom of page